September recipe review

Last month, like just about every month, I tried a bunch of new recipes that I found around the internet.  Some were good some were……less good.  I thought that maybe I’d share my thoughts with you all.  I characterize new recipes in one of three ways – “Will make again“, “Won’t make again” or “Might make again“….it’s very scientific.

We started out the month with Crock pot Pulled pork – there are a million slow cooker pulled pork recipes. This one just wasn’t all that great. And nothing beats the real thing smoked over hardwoods for 3 hours.

Chicken Fried Rice – This was a quick and easy weekday meal that made a giant pot of fried rice that my kids loved!  Definitely will make again.

This meal was a compromise, Pull Apart Pizza Bread & spinach artichoke bread –   I thought for sure that my kids would LOVE the pizza bread and completely shun the artichoke. Well, no one was more surprised than I when the Artichoke spinach bread went like hotcakes while the pizza bread just sort of sat around.  Did I mention that it had spinach AND artichokes??

Skillet Meatballs and Noodles in Creamy Herb Sauce – This was delicious!  I mean who doesn’t like meatballs and noodles?

Three Cheese Enchiladas – These were just too cheesy or something…..I don’t know, they just didn’t make the cut.

One Pot Creamy Chicken and Noodles –  This meal was like the trifecta of goodness.  It was farily quick and easy, my kids happily ate it (or mostly, there were a few minor issues with the carrots, but we muddled through) and it made great left overs!  WINNER!!

One Pot Pasta  – This meal was ok, but really not much more.  Not worth making again.

Pizza Casserole – This is the sort of thing that you make because you just have the ingredients in your fridge. This is all stuff that I just generally have around.  But it’s not a great meal, it’s not something that the kids will look forward to.

Risotto Primavera with Roasted Shrimp – This was delicious! The roasted shrimp was delicious and super easy! On top of all that the kids loved it! Definitely a make again!

Honey Garlic Chicken – The spices in this dish were just too overwhelming. If I made it again I would cut the spice rub in half. I don’t think that this one is going to make the cut, it just didn’t do it for me.

Million Dollar Spaghetti – this was very good, kids loved it and it was still yummy for lunches he next day

So there you have it!  Some of the new recipes that we have tested this month.  All in all, a good month for eating!

Screen Shot 2014-09-21 at 10.56.09 PM

Leave a Reply

